26 March 2021

MEDIA RELEASE: Resolution Institute congratulates inaugural Award winners and nominees

26 March 2021

The Chair of Resolution Institute, Russell Thirgood, is pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural 2021 Resolution Institute Certificate Awards. This is a prestigious honour that celebrates outstanding contribution and practice across the dispute resolution spectrum.

The awardees, most of whom are Resolution Institute members, are a select few shortlisted from a list of worthy nominees, and are excellent examples of exceptional achievement in dispute resolution.

“In making these awards, the Board of Resolution Institute acknowledges the awardees’ stellar work and takes pride in their achievements. The Board and Resolution Institute commend all nominees and extend their warmest congratulations to the winners,” said Mr. Thirgood.


The awardees are:

Achievement by an emerging practitioner

  • Nicole Davidson - awarded for the impressive mixed practice that she began only in 2017, providing negotiation consulting, mediation, and negotiation/conflict resolution training.

Exceptional practice

  • Lynn Booker - awarded for her exceptional ability to work not just with the issues on the table but also truly see people and make them feel good about themselves and participate in difficult conversations fully.

Innovation in practice

  • Wi Pere Mita - awarded for his leadership and co-development of the Māori mediation model Tūhono.
  • Matthew Clayton - awarded for his significant contribution in the design and implementation of a conciliation service for injured people in NZ.
  • Chris Morrow - awarded for his leadership of an expert determination panel that spearheaded the creation of a first-of-its-kind in Australia accreditation standard for expert determination.

Service to dispute resolution

  • Ruth Charlton - awarded for her general editorship of the Australasian Dispute Resolution Journal for over 30 years.
  • Muaausa Pele Walker - awarded for her efforts towards building cultural competence and inclusion for Pasifika dispute resolvers and the Pasifika community.
  • Samantha Hardy - awarded for her leadership and innovation in the dispute resolution sphere, with continuous focus and dedication towards both practitioners and academics.
  • Delcy Lagones de Anglim - awarded for her global advocacy of mediation and contribution to the Singapore Convention on Mediation.
  • Professor Jeffrey Waincymer - awarded for his active involvement with the National University of Singapore in the application of the Singapore Convention on Mediation.


The winners will be presented with their Award certificates at Resolution Institute’s international conference in Sydney in July. Their win will also be celebrated at a state and local committee event.


“Our 2021 award winners and proud members of Resolution Institute are the best in the business and thoroughly deserve this recognition. They really love their work and that absolutely shines through.  They should all be extremely proud of their achievements,” said Mr. Thirgood.   

About Resolution Institute

Resolution Institute is the peak industry body that represents over 3,000 Mediators and Dispute Resolution practitioners in Australia and New Zealand. We are a vibrant community of mediators, arbitrators, expert determiners, adjudicators, restorative justice practitioners and other dispute resolution professionals.

Resolution Institute promotes and fosters the use of dispute resolution and the work of our members.


Sean Brogan, Public Affairs Manager: 0407 436 709

Andrew Serb, Research and Policy Officer: (02) 9251 3366