23 May 2018

Arbitrators and mediators in the spotlight at the Australasian Law Awards 2018

An audience of 650+ top legal professionals from across Australia and New Zealand applauded the winner of the Resolution Institute Australian Arbitrator of the Year Award, John Wakefield and of the Resolution Institute Australian Mediator of the Year Award, Dr Anne Purcell.  At this gala event at The Star in Sydney on 17 May 2018, legal professionals gathered to recognise outstanding contributions by legal firms, legal teams and individuals.  For the second year, the individuals included arbitrators and mediators.

Resolution Institute sponsoring these Awards in both Australia and New Zealand gives significant exposure to Resolution Institute itself and more importantly to arbitration and mediation. In front of such a large audience of legal advisers, showcasing arbitration and mediation helps to keep the alternatives to litigation front of mind.  It also acknowledges and promotes excellence in dispute resolution.

Resolution Institute congratulates finalists and winners of all the Awards presented at the Australasian Law Awards. We particularly congratulate finalists of the Arbitrator of the Year, John Wakefield (winner) and Resolution Institute members, Antonino de Fina, Steven Goldstein and Gordon Smith and finalists for the Mediator of the Year, Resolution Institute members Dr Anne Purcell (winner), David Bryson, Danielle Jaku-Greenfield, Stephen Lancken, Dr Nicky McWilliam and Alison Shaw.  We look forward to eh New Zealand mediators who will be honoured similarly in November this year.

(From left) Resolution Institute Board Chair Gary Ulman and Resolution Institute Arbitrator of the Year 2018 John Wakefield

Resolution Institute CEO Fiona Holiier announcing winner of Resolution Institute Mediator of the Year 2018

(From left to right) Jeremy Gormly, Chair, ADRAC; Fiona Hollier, CEO, Resolution Institute; Jessica Bowman, Quinn Emanuel; Stuart Westgarth, Deputy President, NCAT; Michelle Sindler, Arbitrator; Daniel Fitzpatrick, Piper Alderman; Rui Chi, Holman Webb (and not visible, Gary Ulman, Chair, Resolution Institute; Jason Munsterman, McCullough Robertson; and Sarah Spear, Holman Webb)

Guests enjoying the gravity defying performance of Aerialize, Sydney Aerial Theatre 

For more information on the awards, click here >>