Member Groups

Resolution Institute is incredibly lucky to have so many members who regularly volunteer their time in member groups to assist our small operational team achieve our common goals. Recently we have expanded the member group program enabling more ways for members to contribute. Professional Development Groups in Australia were renamed as State / Location Committees, and Te Kāhui Māori, the Pasifika Network and a new Professional Development Group were started in New Zealand.

We are always looking for enthusiastic, reliable and committed Resolution Institute members to be part of our member groups.

State / Locations Committees – Australia

State / Location Committees work with the Resolution Institute office, to provide stimulating professional learning and networking events at the local level. They contribute a vital element of Resolution Institute services in Australia by connecting personally with Resolution Institute members in their city.

  • Can I submit an EOI to join a new committee in a new location?

    Yes! When you fill in your EOI form and are asked where you are interested in joining a committee, please select "Other" and enter the location of where you would like a new committee to be set up. For example, "South West WA", "Gold Coast QLD" or "Wollongong NSW".

  • What is involved in being a member of a committee?

    State Location Committees meet to organise and host local networking and professional development events. Typically, committees meet monthly for one hour and share the task of hosting events run approximately once per month for two hours. Committees work well when members enjoy planning, organising and assisting to run professional development events, and commit to and be available to attend most committee meetings and events. Events are also most successful when members also support the promotion of events in consultation with Resolution Institute office.
  • What personal qualities and skills do members of committees need?

    • Enthusiastic about DR
    • Committed to promoting the professional development of colleagues and growth of DR
    • Eager to contribute and help
    • Willing to use your contacts, networks and initiative to invite interesting speakers
    • Able to generate ideas, to plan and organise events
    • Reliable – able to do what you say you will and do it on time
  • How does the committee selection process work?

    Each expression of interest is provided to the Chair of the current committee (where one currently exists). At the end of each year the committee decides who the members will be for the following year. If you express an interest during the year, your interest will be forwarded to the existing committee and they will decide whether to invite you to join or ask you to reapply for the next year.


State / Location Committees Terms of Reference


State / Location Committee members

The current members of State / Location Committees are listed below. To learn more about a member click on their Resolution Institute Member Directory listing.

  • QLD committee

  • NSW Newcastle committee

    Jeniffer Drennan - Chair
    Albert Ponte - Vice Chair
    Bruce Atkinson
    Georgia Seaton
    Peter Smee
    Jonathan Spencer
    Michael Symons
    Kathy Tetu
    Doone Turnbull
    Felicity Wardhaugh
    John Woodward

  • NSW Sydney Determinative Committee

    Robert Riddell - Chair
    Jim Baillie - Vice Chair
    Charles Brannen
    Robert McDougall
    Neil Kirkpatrick
    Philip Martin
    Shady Mikhail
    Chris Morrow
    Lee Price
    Graeme Robinson
    Robert Sundercombe
    William Taylor
    Rob Zikman
    Philip Argy
    David Campbell
    Peter Callaghan
    David Francis

  • NSW Sydney Facilitative Committee

    Kym Roylance - Chair
    Raymond Brazil
    Shelby Timmins
    Sally Lord
    Glenys Rikard-Bell
    David Roberts
    Paula Bruce
    Evatt Styles

  • SA Adelaide Committee

    Martin Frayne – Chair
    David Mitchell
    David Egarr
    Greg Rooney
    Ippei Okazaki
    John Bartley
    John Vozzo
    Nicholas Floreani
    Simone Wells
    Belinda Lynch

  • Tasmania Committee

    Debbie Dunn – Chair
    Eveleen Rao
    Alan Larcombe
    Sarah Bolt
    Alastair Oxbrough
    Edwina Gelston
    Tam Paul
    Rikki Mawad
    Christopher Whitelaw
    Catherine McDonald
    John Livermore
    Michael Stewart
    Hugo Aston

  • VIC Melbourne Adjudication Committee

    Bob Beck - Chair
    Hugh Foxcroft QC - Vice Chair
    Michael Heaton QC
    Saul Rozenbes
    Davis Thyer

  • VIC Melbourne Arbitration and Expert Determination Committee

    Ian McMaster - Chair
    Yuriy Netrusov - Vice chair
    Jon Kenfield
    Raj C B Chidambara
    Hugh Foxcroft
    Michael Heaton
    Donna Ross
    John Rundell
    Dov Silberman

  • VIC Melbourne Facilitative Committee

    Michelle Royal-Hebblewhite – Chair
    Anna Lee Cribb – Vice chair
    Jodie Grant
    Susan Hamilton-Green
    Rebecca Cameron
    Jon Kenfield
    Michelle Zelig
    John Rundell
    Brett Ponroy
    Mark Keough

  • WA Perth and NT Darwin Committee

    Deon Baddock – Chair
    Adwao Abban
    Taurayi Cynthia
    Fay Davidson
    Peter Mathie
    Steve Lieblich
    Adrian Sommerville
    Clare Ryall
    Scott Ellis
    Sharin Ruba Khosa
    Philip Loots
    Nicki Sloan
    Mandy Drommer
    Rita Choy
    Peter Stoyles
    John Fisher
    Lee Panotidis
    Jaswant Deo
    Karene Primrose

  • VIC Geelong Committee

    Jeanette Kinaham - Chair
    Carol Young
    Yvonne Sumner

Member Groups – NZ

Te Kāhui Māori (Māori Caucus)

The Resolution Institute Kāhui Māori – Māori Caucus (“the Caucus”) is the representative group for Māori members. It advises the Board and staff of Resolution Institute on:

  • How Resolution Institute can best reflect and respond to our bi-cultural context in Aotearoa New Zealand and our commitment to Te Tiriti o Waitangi;
  • Resolution Institute membership matters;
  • Professional development and training;
  • Strategy, policy, advocacy and representation matters affecting the role of dispute resolvers in Aotearoa New Zealand, particularly Māori.

The caucus acknowledges the trans-Tasman make up of Resolution Institute membership and recognises the mana held by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island people of Australia and Māori of Aotearoa.

Please read full terms of reference for Kāhui Māori here

The Resolution Institute Pasifika Network (RIPN)

The Resolution Institute Pasifika Network (RIPN) is committed to improving the visibility, accessibility, appropriateness and cultural relevance of mediation for Pasifika peoples.

RIPN will:

  • grow and support Pasifika mediators to model best practice,
  • voice a Pasifika perspective on important issues affecting the mediation community,
  • and share their expertise, experience and knowledge with the Resolution Institute members.

Please read full terms of reference for Pasifika Network here

Aotearoa New Zealand Professional Development Group

The Aotearoa New Zealand Professional Development Group is the voice of members and advises the Board and staff of Resolution Institute on:

  • Professional development and training, both online and face to face
  • Resolution Institute membership matters
  • Policy and advocacy matters affecting the role of dispute resolvers in Aotearoa New Zealand
  • The strategy and policies of Resolution Institute itself and relevant issues that may arise from time to time.
  • How Resolution Institute can best reflect and respond to our bi-cultural context in Aotearoa New Zealand and our commitment to Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Please read full terms of reference for Aotearoa New Zealand PDG here