Member Login

Need help?

Resolution Institute Michael Klug Award

About the Resolution Institute Michael Klug Award

The Resolution Institute Michael Klug Award is presented annually by the Resolution Institute Board to any person or persons who has in the previous 12 months contributed towards the peaceful resolution of conflict in the best interests of the community.

About Michael Klug

A manaMichael Klugging partner in Clayton Utz, Michael Klug was Founding Vice-Chair in 1989  of the then LEADR, holding the position until the end of 1995. He was also Chair in 1996 and a Director for nine and a half years during the period 1989-2001. At the organisation’s inception, Michael created the original acronym that was known as LEADR. He is committed to lawyers embracing ADR and the development of negotiation skills.


2018 - Sarah Blake

Sarah Blake is the recipient of the 2018 Resolution Institute Michael Klug Award in recognition of her contribution to the peaceful resolution of conflict within Aboriginal communities throughout WA. With an ability to bridge the cultural divides with respect and authority, her work is exemplified by a Community Mediation in 2016-17 in the East Kimberley region. 

Read More

2015 - Chris Lilleyman

In 2015, the Board selected two recipients of the Michael Klug Award, Mr Chris Lilleyman and Prof Chris Marshall (profiled below). In choosing Chris for the Award, the Board recognises Chris’ passion and perseverance for providing students with the experience of cooperative dispute resolution of legal, social and personal disputes.

Read More

2015 - Professor Chris Marshall

Professor Chris Marshall BA (Hons) BD, MA PhD London is the Diana Unwin Chair in Restorative Justice at Victoria University of Wellington in New Zealand. In making the Award, the Board recognised Chris’s passion for conflict resolution and peacemaking, as well as his significant contribution to the development and promotion of restorative justice.

Read More

2014 - Associate Professor Dale Bagshaw

Associate Professor Dale Bagshaw (Dip Soc Stud, BA, M Soc Admin, PhD), is an adjunct with the School of Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy, University of South Australia where she was previously a Head of School, Program Director of postgraduate programs in Mediation and Conflict Resolution and Director of the Centre for Peace, Conflict and Mediation.

Read More

2013 - Micheline Dewdney

Micheline is an Advanced member. She regularly coaches on mediation courses and is an assessor mediator competency of competency for national (NMAS) and LEADR accreditation.

Read More

2012 - The Hon. Murray Kellam AO

The Honourable Murray Kellam AO was the recipient of the 2012 Michael Klug Award in recognition of his work educating the judiciary overseas, in the area of juvenile justice and human rights for children through his work with UNICEF in Bangladesh, Mongolia and Myanmar (Burma).

Read More

2011 - Dr Michael King

Dr Michael King, Magistrate for the East Kimberley, Western Australia, was presented the 2011 Michael Klug Award in May 2011 in Perth in recognition of his work in non-adversarial justice.

Read More

2010 - Dr Stella Cornelius AO OBE

The inaugural Michael Klug Award was awarded to Dr Stella Cornelius in May 2010 in recognition of her remarkable contribution to the peaceful resolution of conflict.

Read More