Member Login

Need help?


The Resolution Institute Ambassador is an honorary role established for two purposes: to promote the increased use of dispute resolution and to foster awareness about Resolution Institute as the leading dispute resolution membership and advocacy organisation in Australia and New Zealand.  

Resolution Institute consults with Ambassadors about appropriate ways for them personally to achieve these purposes. Examples include presenting in person to local groups of members, being a plenary speaker at a conference, presenting webinars and/or adding the title of Resolution Institute Ambassador to their profiles when participating in domestic and international DR forums.  Resolution Institute is also open to other ways of contributing that suit the skills and interests of Ambassadors.

In 2016, the Board has appointed Ian Govey AM and Annabel Shaw as Resolution Institute Ambassadors for two years.

Current  Ambassadors

Ian Govey AM

Ian Govey has recently retired as the Australian Government Solicitor following some years as CEO, AGS. Prior to taking that role in 2010, Ian was the Deputy Secretary, Civil Justice and legal Services in the Attorney-General’s Department for 10 years. In 2015 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for his leadership in the provision of government legal services and for significant service to public administration and to the Law.

Ian is currently a board member of the Australasian Legal Information Institute and a director of the Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (ACICA). He has also contributed significantly to the work of the National ADR Advisory Council (NADRAC) in Australia.

Annabel Shaw

Annabel Shaw is a private mediator and adjunct lecturer at Victoria University of Wellington’s Faculty of Law, with over a decade’s experience in both DR theory and practice. Annabel has practised across a wide range of processes as a provider and lawyer, including mediation, restorative justice, conciliation, arbitration and litigation. She has researched and taught a broad range of DR topics including DR theory and skills, conflict management, and mediation advocacy. She has also held roles in DR policy, management and governance.

Previous  Fellows

Professor Laurence Boulle

Professor Laurence Boulle commenced as the then LEADR Fellow. Laurence was appointed as Fellow in 2013 for his significant contribution to DR. During his term, Laurence presented to chapters and other local groups of members on ‘’Minding the gaps in dispute resolution”.

Read More

Tom Howe QC

Tom Howe QC, Chief Counsel, Dispute Resolution at the Australian Government Solicitor (AGS) became the Fellow for 2011−2012 in June 2011.

Read More

Geoff Sharp

As Fellow during 2009-11, innovative and dynamic mediator Geoff Sharp, was a key speaker at 'kon gres 2009, and presented at  Chapter events throughout Australia and New Zealand.

Read More

Joanna Kalowski

Fellow from 2006-7, Joanna is a lively and energetic ADR practitioner and champion. In 1996, Joanna became the Chair in of  the  then LEADR  in 2001 and facilitated mediation training contributing enormously to establishing the excellent reputation of the organisation.

Read More

The Honourable Tony Fitzgerald

Inaugural Fellow from 2005-06, The Honourable Tony Fitzgerald was a was a judge in the Federal Court of Australia from November 1981 to June 1984 and presided over the Fitzgerald Inquiry into corruption in the Queensland government from 1987 to 1989.

Read More